Scientific Advisory Board

Detlef Schuppan

Prof. Dr. Detlef Schuppan is Professor at the Department of Gastro-enterology and Hepatology, Beth Deaconess Hospital, Harvard Medical School in Boston (USA) and a visiting Professor at the Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Columbia University, in New York. He received his Ph.D. degree in Biochemistry in 1982, his Medical Degree in 1986 and he wrote his second thesis in 1989. Prof. Schuppan is also Associate Editor of the Journal of Hepatology and member of the Editorial Board of Gastroenterology and the Editorial Board of Gut.


Scott Friedman

Prof. Dr. Scott L. Friedman is the Chief of Liver Diseases, Division of Medicine. He is a 1979 graduate of Mount Sinai School of Medicine. After graduation he was a Medical Resident at the Beth Israel Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston. During a 1995-96 sabbatical from UCSF he was a Fulbright Scholar and Visiting Professor at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel, in the laboratory of Dr. Moshe Oren. He was Associate Editor of Hepatology, and on the Editorial Board of Journal of Gastroenterology and Hepatology. He is senior Editor of the textbook “Current Diagnosis and Treatment in Gastroenterology”. He is on the Scientific Advisory Board of the US-Israel Binational Science Foundation.


Sophie Lotersztajn

Dr. Sophie Lotersztajn (1958) is Research Director at the INSERM (INstitut de la Santé Et de la Recherche Médicale) in France and principal investigator and head of the group “Molecular mechanisms of liver fibrosis” at the Hospital Henry Mondor in Creteil, Paris. She is author of many publications in high-ranking journals, all about the molecular regulation of hepatic fibrosis. Dr. Lotersztajn is member of the Scientific Committee of INSERM, member of the Editorial Board of American Journal of Physiology and member of the Editorial Board of Molecular Pharmacology.